Welcome to Mathematics

Meet the Team

Laj3fshxxodby1fatesv

Mrs J Tyerman

Head of Department (Key Stage 4 Coordinator) Email: j.tyerman@bishopsgarth.outwood.com

Find Out More

Yocsegyjwso7pek8tkin

Miss F Lindsey

Second in Maths Department (KS3 coordinator) Email: f.lindsey@bishopsgarth.outwood.com

Find Out More

Dvwmxmztolik8ze4byk4

Mr A Francis

Teacher of Maths Email: a.francis@bishopsgarth.outwood.com

Find Out More

Wuefsmxn8nxvtzsw605b

Mrs E Willis

Teacher of Maths Email: e.willis@bishopsgarth.outwood.com

Find Out More

Ot1oqiolna4kxetnkzbi

Miss E Hanmer

Teacher of Maths Email: e.hanmer@bishopsgarth.outwood.com

Find Out More

B2okqi8mu61y5rjqexgl

Mrs A Close

1:2:1 Maths Tutor Email: a.close@bishopsgarth.outwood.com

Find Out More

Dbw84hkinzgqo0wypp8b

Mrs R Wainman

1:2:1 Maths Tutor Email: r.wainman@bishopsgarth.outwood.com

Find Out More

The Mathematics Department at Outwood Academy Bishopsgarth has three main aims:

• to develop the mathematical reasoning and fluency of its students
• to encourage its students to continually improve their problem solving skills
• to provide students with the ability to cope with the mathematical demands made upon them in everyday life in employment and further education.

With this in mind, students in Year 7 will study Mathematics through a mastery approach, establishing a concrete foundation of concepts and skills, via rich and sophisticated problems before acceleration through new content.

Key Stage 3

Key Stage 3
The Maths course at Key Stage 3 provides students with the necessary skills and knowledge to access the GCSE course in Key Stage 4. Our Year 7 students are following a Mastery scheme of work which they will continue into Year 8.

Each year is split up into a series of topics which students study for periods of between 2 and 4 weeks. We also have problem solving and project weeks. All students learn the same content regardless of their group. More able students will be stretched by content depth rather than going onto the next stage.

Our year 8 students are following a linear scheme of work which builds upon their learning from Year 7 and underpins their mathematical skills as they progress to Year 9

If you would like further information about the topics and themes being taught please contact: Mrs Tyerman, Head of Department

Key Stage 4

GCSE (9-1) in Mathematics

  • Number
  • Algebra
  • Geometry
  • Statistics
  • Ratio & Proportion

GCSE Mathematics is assessed in the following way:

If you would like further information about the topics and themes being taught please contact: Mrs Tyerman, Head of Department

Enrichment opportunities for Maths

Please see the current Academy Enrichment Programme Booklet for details of enrichment opportunities in this subject area.